Tap to Read ➤

How to Pray the Rosary

Anju Shandilya Aug 10, 2020
The Rosary is one of the most followed, beautiful, and sacred prayers. Read ahead to understand the way to prepare for it.
The rosary is divided into five decades, each representing a mystery or event in the life of Jesus. There is a total of four sets of Mysteries, the four being Joyful, Luminous, Sorrowful, and Glorious. These contain a total of twenty mysteries.
To pray, you will have to use a Rosary, which is a string of beads with a crucifix. A short string of beads is also attached to the crucifix, which leads to a circular strip of beads that is made up of five sets of one large bead and ten smaller beads, which are known as decades.
The prayer begins with the sign of the cross and the Apostle's Creed. The Our Father is recited on the large bead, and the Hail Mary is recited for each of the three smaller beads. On the next large bead, Glory Be to the Father is said, followed by meditation on the first mystery, followed with an Our Father.
This has to be followed by a Hail Mary for each of the smaller beads, and the decade has to be ended with the Glory Be. Begin the cycle with an Our Father and begin the meditation on the second mystery as described; complete the same for the third, fourth, and the fifth mysteries. The Rosary is ended with its prayer and the sign of the cross.
Each mystery is recited on a specific day of the week, and during a private recitation of the Rosary, each decade requires devout meditation on a specific mystery. For public recitation, which involves two or more people, a leader is to be identified, who has to announce each of the mysteries before the decade, and then start each prayer.

The Joyful Mysteries

These are recited on Mondays, Thursdays and all Sundays from 1st Sunday of Advent until Lent. They include:
  • The Annunciation to Mary
  • The Visitation of Mary
  • The Birth of Lord Jesus Christ
  • The Presentation of the Child Jesus at the Temple
  • The Finding of the Lord in the Temple

The Sorrowful Mysteries

These are recited on Tuesdays, Fridays, and Sundays of Lent. They include:
  • The Agony of the Christ in the Garden
  • The Scourging at the Pillar
  • The Crowning with Thorns
  • The Carrying of the Cross
  • The Crucifixion and Death of the Lord on the Cross

The Glorious Mysteries

These are recited on Wednesdays, Saturdays, and Sundays from Easter until Lent. They include the following:
  • The Resurrection of the Lord
  • The Ascension
  • The Descent of the Holy Spirit upon the Apostles
  • The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary into Heaven
  • The Coronation of the Lady as Queen of Heaven and Earth

The Luminous Mysteries

These are recited on Thursdays. They include:
  • The Baptism of the Lord in the Jordan
  • The Self Revelation at the Wedding Feast of Cana
  • Jesus' Proclamation of the Kingdom of God
  • The Transfiguration
  • The Institution of the Eucharist

Prayer - Our Father

Our Father Who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy name, Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth as it is in Heaven. Give us this day our daily bread and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us. Lead us not to temptation but deliver us from evil.

Prayer - Hail Mary

Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee, blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners now, and at the hour of our death. Amen.